A Day in a Hospital


I had been yearning for a break until a couple of weeks ago. Wafting through appointments, disappointments, excitements and dreams, I was suddenly struck by damn throat infection. The infection got me bed ridden for a week. Unable to power on my Mac for a week, I was kind of eager to switch it on to write a few lines of deadly code (Yeah, I do write multilingual deadly code snippets) and check out the notifications on Facebook. Social networking sites have become such an integral part of my life that I don’t hesitate to pick up my aeons old Nokia phone ( According to latest statistics only four people are using this particular model of mobile phone) and try to open Facebook on Opera 4.0, the oldest version of Opera currently alive on a mobile phone. Phew! we engineers don’t stop at anything when it comes to checking FB notifications and ….

My sweet feverish break forced me to visit hospitals, which I found to be an altogether different world. Following are some of the observations about the hospitals:

  • When two patients meet, they show concern for each other’s health.

  • Doctors are very considerate of the patients. I don’t have words to explain how much do I like doctors.

  • Some patients are extremely talkative, while others keep their worries for themselves.

  • Some patients eat a lot when they fall ill, especially when they are diabetic.

  • Doctors are like gods. People, irrespective of their status, show them gratitude by folding their hands together, standing up, giving a wry grin of hope or acknowledging a doctors presence in some way.

  • When doctors make rounds in the wards, it is an incredible march of faith in gods and doctors. Everybody looks up to them with hope and trust.

  • Many people become weak when they face pain. They cry; they scream; but, in the end, they have to suffer for themselves. The sooner people understand it the better they are prepared for life.

  • Sisters are essential to the working of a hospital. They actually make the patients feel that they are being cared.

I also picked up the most talked about non fiction book The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee. The book talks about the the biography of Cancer, the disease. You may be terrified as you read the book, but, trust me, the book is worth a read. The human spirit never acknowledges defeat. Same goes with the surgeons, who gave up their life in finding a cure for Cancer. Cancer is

 “Omnis cellula e cellula (“every cell originates from another existing cell like it.”) ad infinitum.”

 Now listening to Abhi Na Jao Chor Kar from Hum Dono starring Dev Anand and Nanda.

 Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

