Joy Never Dies


Yesterday, I watched Anand yet again. How I wish that Anand had not died in the movie. But then as Anand said

Babu Moshai, we are mere puppets in the game of life and death. Whatever happens here, we do not know for it is all in the hands of the Almighty.

How true. Who knew that one of the most revered persons in my life would suddenly leave me forever; who knew that one of the most enthusiastic persons, I have ever met in my life, would suddenly disappear. I miss her from the deep in my heart. In the darkest hours of the nights, I see her smiling face. But, when I open my eyes, I realize that she is gone. I would never be able to see her again.

I still remember her playing an old Hindi classic song in the middle of the night. She was like rainbow, which has many hues. Having spent years with her, I discovered these hues. Even at the age of 55, she learned to play her favorites on the synthesizer. She was the first who made me believe that nothing is impossible. A believer in life, she always made me believe that life is indeed beautiful. In one of the dialogues, Anand said

Babu Moshai, life should be big, not long.”

She definitely lived a bigger life, bigger than many of us. She never discriminated people based on their social status. She would always help the people in need. She touched many lives. Her mere presence gave strength to many, including me. Now that she is gone, I can only thank her for everything she has done for me. I am fortunate to have her in my life.

My maternal aunt, maternal uncle and their daughter, my beloved sister, died in a tragic road accident on April 12th, 2010.  I am writing this post to pay them my tribute. Anand ends with the quote that “Anand didn’t die. Joy never dies”. Now, I understand that some people, such as my maternal aunt, never die. They live in the hearts of people for ever.

Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

