Repentance: Systematic Chaos (Dream Theatre )

I happened to listen to this song recently.  In the end of the song there is an unspoken passage called ‘ The Twelve Promises” . The passage goes like this:

“If we are painstaking about this phase of our development

  1. We will be amazed before we are half way through
  2. We are going to know a new freedom and a new happiness
  3. We will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it
  4. We will comprehend the word serenity and we will know peace
  5. No matter how far down the scale we have gone, we will see how our experience can benefit others
  6. That feeling of uselessness and self-pity will disappear
  7. We will lose interest in selfish things and gain interest in our fellows.
  8. Self-seeking will slip away
  9. Our whole attitude and outlook upon life will change.
  10. Fear of people and of economic insecurity will leave us.
  11. We will intuitively know how to handle situations which used to baffle us
  12. We will suddenly realize that God is doing for us what we could not do for ourselves”

The song ends with the following lines:

“You’re only as sick as your secrets
But the truth will set you free
The truth is the truth
And all you can do is live with it’

I believe that Dream Theatre deserves an applause for this one.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: